Europe / MLS / Premier League / Soccer

Welcome to 2016, soccer fans

Well, it’s finally here!

2016.

The year of the Copa America Centenario.

The year of the 2016 Olympics which will be located in Rio.

Also, the year I will be turning 30.

Bet you didn’t think I would indulge you in that last point, was it?

Regardless, I’ll be 30 but ALSO, there’s lots of things happening in soccer this year. In addition to the Copa Centenario and the Olympics (which I love and am so excited about even though I know it’s ruining the economy of Brazil – as I’m pretty sure the World Cup did, in part because they built a stadium in the middle of the Rainforest, but *details* – and it’s probably going to be a utter chaos in the city of Rio de Janeiro), there will also be an interesting race for the top 4 spots in the Premier League and Major League Soccer, which will be legal this year (aka MLS will be in its 21st season this year), will continue to grow.

Major League Soccer hasn’t started its 2016 campaign yet but all signs are pointing toward another year of the league’s games increasing in attendance, even better and a growing talent pool for starting elevens, and a (hopefully) solid season of television audiences.

On the other side of the pond with the Premier League about halfway finished for the ’15-’16 season, the main clubs are pretty much in the running for the top 4 spots for a Champions League berth, but one team has raised eyebrows for its place (currently in 2nd): Leicester City. Jamie Vardy has been a revelation this season as he is tied, with Everton’s Romelu Lukaku, for first with most goals so far (15) this season. Not only has Vardy been a highlight for the Foxes – and football fans in general, because let’s face it, it’s been a joy to watch his goals and Leicester beat bigger clubs – but Harry Kane has also kept his hot streak going as he is currently in 5th for goals scored with 11 on the season.

Kane, Tottenham’s top scorer last season, has been a pivotal part to Spurs’s position in the table, and at 4th, the Lilywhites’ certainly look to keep that momentum going. And with that momentum, I can tell you for a fact that, many people – who normally wouldn’t be optimistic about a Spurs season – are optimistic. And at the very least my friends and I – as I affectionately like to call them ‘my people’ – with Chicago Spurs are definitely having a fun season. Take a look at some pictures of the season so far…

Here's me and Ann taking an excited selfie at The Atlantic.

Here’s me and Ann taking an excited selfie at The Atlantic.

 

The original 'kids' of Chicago Spurs...Kevin, me, Nathan, and Hana. I'm like the oldest sister of all of us. It's fun. :)

The original ‘kids’ of Chicago Spurs…Kevin, me, Nathan, and Hana. I’m like the oldest sister of all of us. It’s fun. 🙂

 

At the Christmas/Holiday Party with my Chicago Spurs  'big brother and sister' - Rick and Ann.

At the Christmas/Holiday Party with my Chicago Spurs ‘big brother and sister’ – Rick and Ann.

 

We took a selfie after the Tottenham vs. Everton match. Solid from everyone.

We took a selfie after the Tottenham vs. Everton match. Solid from everyone.

 

Some of my favorite people with me - Chicago Spurs ladies.

Some of my favorite people with me – Chicago Spurs ladies: Victoria, Ann, me, Shannon, and Hana.

Leave a Reply

