2015 WWC / International Tournaments / NWSL / Soccer / USWNT

Summer of Soccer – 2015

This was truly a summer of soccer for not only NBC, ESPN, and Fox Sports, but also for me as well. (It also, apparently, was a summer of not writing on this here blog – but if you didn’t know, you can also read some of my more MLS-focused work at Soccer Newsday (http://bit.ly/SNKatherine) where I wrote all summer long and did not fail to neglect that column whereas I did in the case here.)

Growing up as a female soccer player, it was – and still sometimes is – a little hard to be respected about loving, supporting, and actually having solid opinions about a sport, let alone soccer (let’s face it, soccer supporters are very passionate people). However, this summer seemed to have a shift to it…not a seismic shift but one that I was able to showcase my knowledge and one in which people who don’t love the game of soccer as much as I do maybe get a glimpse of why I do love it so much.

This summer not only brought about the U-20 World Cup (which I wasn’t able to watch save for highlights because it was in New Zealand and games started around 1am my time), but this summer also played host to Copa America down in South America and OF COURSE, the Women’s World Cup in Canada.

Now, as a woman, I support women’s sports but before the World Cup, I had never been able to attend a National Women’s Soccer League game or go to USWNT match. This summer changed that and it’s been such fun getting to watch women’s soccer (even though I didn’t attend the WWC, but I have now been to NWSL games!), regardless of how much I enjoy – and still watch and support – men’s soccer.

Here are some photos from this summer and the celebrations of the eventual 2015 Women’s World Cup champions – the United States of America.

With two of my Chicago Spurs friends watching the USA vs. Nigeria match in the Women's World Cup.

With two of my Chicago Spurs friends watching the USA vs. Nigeria match in the Women’s World Cup.

 

Watching China vs. USA...again with my (Chicago Spurs) friends.

Watching China vs. USA…again with my (Chicago Spurs) friends.

 

With my friend Mike aka Teddy Goalsevelt before the USWNT took on Germany in the World Cup.

With my friend Mike aka Teddy Goalsevelt before the USWNT took on Germany in the World Cup.

 

Going old school with my Mia Hamm jersey for the WWC Final - USAvJPN.

Going old school with my Mia Hamm jersey for the WWC Final – USAvJPN.

 

With my friends Hana and Ann after the USWNT won the 2015 Women's World Cup!

With my friends Hana and Ann after the USWNT won the 2015 Women’s World Cup!

 

Saw the Women's World Cup Trophy on my lunch break. Kind of surreal.

Saw the Women’s World Cup Trophy on my lunch break. Kind of surreal.

Leave a Reply

